The Ithaca Teachers Association is a professional organization representing over 600 teachers, social workers, school counselors, psychologists, occupational therapists, speech pathologists, and other education professionals in the Ithaca City School District.

ITA Leadership

Union leadership consists of Officers, Chairpersons, NYSUT Delegates, Building Representatives and Committee Members. These positions are elected positions or appointed positions according to our Association Constitution and By-Laws.

ITA Administrative Assistant, Kathye Arrington, ita1375@yahoo.com


Officers, Chairpersons, Representatives

President, Adam Piasecki, adamp612@hotmail.com
1st Vice President, Kathryn Cernera, ms.cernera@gmail.com
2nd Vice President, Kate Gefell
Secretary, vacant
Treasurer, Brian Goodman
Professional Practices and Rights Chair, Keith Thompson 
Health and Safety Chair, Iris Milich
Elections Chair, Ben Kirk
Social Justice Committee Chair,  Brooke Burnett, Hope Darcey Martin
Community and Member Events Co-Chairs, Jane Koestler & Paula Kiltz
Political Action Chair, Shari Haldeman
Membership Chair, Melissa Crawford
Solidarity Chair, David Isley
VOTECOPE Chair, Andrew Lesser

Building Representatives

  • Boynton – Julie Wilcox, Victoria Benson, Erik Frank, Jenni Smith
  • Dewitt – Jordie Roehr, Kathryn Cernera, Susan Danskin, Eric Pritz
  • LACS – Sara Arnold, Marnie Hastings
  • Belle Sherman – Joe Volpe, Randi Beckman
  • BJM – Sue Newman, Brooke Burnett
  • Caroline – Danielle Rottenstein, Renee Keeting
  • Enfield – Sarah Pallor
  • Cayuga Heights –
  • Fall Creek – Michal Ronen, Allison Anderson
  • South Hill – Carol Dentes-Wilhelm, Jane Koestler
  • Northeast – Irish Milich, Melissa Tesoriero
  • IHS – varies by Dept. but see Chris Carver, Keith Thompson, Meggie New, Deb Lynn, Shirley Kennedy

NYSUT Delegates

Iris Milich, Victoria Benson, Adam Piasecki, Melissa Tesoriero, Meggie New, Fan Farrell, Deb Lynn (alternate)

NYSTRS Delegates

Keith Thompson, Susan Danskin, Iris Milich, Adam Piasecki (alternate)